« Back to all news

August 26, 2013 - Neal Schon is inducted into the Oklahoma Music Hall of Fame
Muskogee, Okla. August 21, 2013 - Oklahoma's own Neal Schon, of the legendary rock band Journey, was inducted into the Oklahoma Music Hall of Fame on Friday, August 23, 2013, in Tulsa, prior to Journey's concert at The Joint Hard Rock Event Center.

The only constant member of Journey, Neal Schon was born at Tinker Air force Base located southeast of Oklahoma City. The multi-talented guitarist, vocalist and songwriter was also a member of Santana and Bad English, HSAS, Abraxas Pool, Soul SirkUS, and others, and enjoys a successful solo career. As a member of Journey, Schon co-wrote some of the group's biggest hits including "Don't Stop Believin'," "Any Way You Want It," "Lights," and "Wheel In The Sky."

"The Oklahoma Music Hall of Fame is thrilled to induct Neal Schon to kick off the first of a number of events planned in Tulsa and OKC," says OMHOF's Executive Director, Jim Blair.

Schon joins a prestigious group of past inductees, including Woody Guthrie, Merle Haggard, Blake Shelton, Ronnie Dunn, and Carrie Underwood, among others, who have contributed to Oklahoma's rich musical local, national and international history. For more information about the Oklahoma Music Hall of Fame, visit

Link to this story: Facebook  Twitter  LinkedIn  Digg  MySpace