« Back to all albums
(May 1978)

Journey's fourth album, Infinity, was released in January of 1978 on the Columbia Records label. Looking for a stronger lead vocalist, Journey briefly enlisted front man Robert Fleischman and even recorded one track, "For You", which would later appear on the Time3 collection. Fleischman was soon replaced by Steve Perry. Perry and Neal Schon penned their first song together, "Patiently", which would appear on the new studio album. Other popular singles include "Lights" and "Wheel in the Sky", the latter written by temporary front man Fleischman. Journey's manager, Herbie Herbert, enlisted producer Roy Thomas Baker to engineer Infinity. This produced a layered sound approach, similar to his work with Queen, as demonstrated on tracks such as "Winds of March". The addition of Perry solidified their more mainstream sound and helped Journey attain their highest chart success to date. Infinity also marked the last appearance of drummer Aynsley Dunbar as a member of the band - he left to join Jefferson Starship.