« Back to all albums

Journey's seventh studio album (and eighth overall), Escape, was released in July 1981. Escape was the band's first album with new keyboardist Jonathan Cain who had replaced founding keyboardist Gregg Rolie who had left the band at the end of 1980. The album was co-produced by Kevin Elson and one-time Queen engineer Mike Stone, who also engineered the album. With three hit singles out of "Don't Stop Believin'", "Who's Crying Now" and "Open Arms" plus rock radio staples like "Stone in Love" and the album's title cut, Escape became Journey's biggest selling album yet, and remains one of their most popular and best-reviewed works to date.